American Academy of Audiology

...of, by, and for audiologists

eAudiology - Coding and Reimbursement Series: Coding and Other Changes for 2013 (.1 CEUs)

Tuesday, March 12, 2013 1:00pm - 2:00pm EDT  
Host: American Academy of Audiology
By: Debra Abel, Adjunct instructor, A. T. Still University

CEUs: .1 CEUs

Who Should Attend: Audiologists providing clinical services

Instructional Level: Introductory

Program Focus: Knowledge

Learner Outcomes: Upon completion, each participant in the eAudiology Web seminar will be able to:

  1. Identify the PQRS update based on the 2013 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule that impacts payment in 2015
  2. Identify the new HCPCS codes for 2013
  3. Identify the changes that impact audiology based on the 2013 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule

Several changes pertinent to audiologists will be discussed in this eAudiology Web seminar, including the necessary reporting of eligible measures for audiologists providing services to Medicare Part B beneficiaries in 2013 within the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) and to avoid the penalty for each Medicare claim in 2015. The seminar will also present information on a new family of HCPCS codes and the delay in the ICD-10 coding system.


Debra Abel
Debra Abel

Adjunct instructor, A. T. Still University

Dr. Abel spent 13 years in private practice in Alliance, OH after moving an existing practice from the Alliance Eye and Ear Clinic where she was employed for 14 years.

Previous to serving as a Board member-at-large of the Academy, Dr. Abel served as the chair of the Academy's Coding and Practice Management Committee (now known as the Coding and Reimbursement Committee) and is now the Senior Education Specialist, Business Practices, for the Academy and is also associated with a private practice within Arch Health Partners in Poway, CA, where she provides audiologic services on a limited schedule.

Dr. Abel is an adjunct instructor at A. T. Still University and at the Pennsylvania College of Optometry/Salus University. She is a past member of the Academy's Governmental Affairs Committee and the Ethical Practices Board, past President of the Ohio Academy of Audiology, past Chair and Vice Chair of the Ohio Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, and served as a member and executive committee member of the Alliance Community Hospital Board of Directors. She is the Alliance Area's 1994 Athena Award recipient and in 2006, was awarded the first "Active Advocate of the Year" by the State Leaders' Network of the American Academy of Audiology.

Invite Others

Enter email addresses of people you want to invite, separated by commas.